Code Hinting for Flex operations not appearing in QTP 10 ?

25 09 2009

QTP 10 as of now does not display code hinting for flex operations and this can be a real problems for users that work extensively with decriptive programming.

We are currently working with QTP to get this sorted out but till then here is a workaround which you can use.

1.Copy the TeaFlex.xml from Flex folder present inside the Flex plugin for QTP folder and the TeaFlex_AIR.xml from the AIR foder also present inside the same Plugin folder.

2.Place these xml files under the C:\Program Files\HP\QuickTest Professional\dat\Extensibility\TEA folder within the QTP10 installation.

 3.Then type regedit in the command prompt and open the registry.

4.Then you need  to add string value “C:\Program Files\HP\QuickTest Professional\dat\Extensibility\TEA” to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Mercury Interactive\QuickTest Professional\MicTest\StepInformationManager\TypeInfoFiles node in the registry.

5.Once you do this restart QTP and you will notice that the code hinting appears 🙂


Actions

Information

10 responses

1 10 2009
JimmyBean

I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

A definite great read..Jim Bean

9 10 2009
Bill Bartmann

Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

17 10 2009
Savannah

Awesome blog!

I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
LOL,

21 10 2009
black hattitude

hello,

thanks for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

black hattitude.

26 10 2009
svakil

Hey guys thanks a lot for the words of appreciation 🙂 It really made my day !

29 12 2009
simi

First of all. Thanks very much for your useful post.

I just came across your blog and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here.

Please let me introduce you some info related to this post and I hope that it is useful for software testing community.

There is a good Software Testing resource site, Have alook

http://SoftwareTestingNet.com

simi

8 01 2010
Neil

Excellent post. Helps a lot .
Thanks

29 03 2010
Steven Erat

Please refer to this screenshot. http://twitpic.com/1btqdm/full

This is QTP 10 recording a Flex 4 (final) application with all the appropriate automation libraries. I even added the registry correction as shown here.

When I record a test against Flex Store, then it works, but of course Flex Store uses mx (halo) component namespace, not spark.
http://twitpic.com/1btsow/full

Could you please advise? Thank you!

7 04 2010
svakil

Hi Steven
Running a parallel vmware of win xp from a mac machine is not a supported configuration and i think that is where your problem lies cause i have the win xp sp3 +QTP10+IE8+flex4 Plugin configuration and everythings working fine .The reason flexstore is working is becuase it is precompiled with autoation libraries .I would suggest that you try the same on a winodws machine.

8 04 2010
Steven Erat

Thanks for the reply. I set up QTP 10 (trial version) again on a new Windows machine. This is with WIndows XP SP3 running as the native OS on hardware, not in a VM. I was able to reproduce the problem where TEAPluginIE.dll loads in MSIE 8 when testing the Flex Store, but does not record any Flex mx or spark components. I will update the bug report.

Leave a comment